Skip to Content

Morphettville Set for a Classic in the Group 1 Sangster

Mick Price’s Secret Agenda will look to go back to back in the Group 1 UBET Classic after today’s nominations for the $1 Million feature were released.

32 horses have nominated for Australia’s premier WFA race for Fillies & Mares and Price’s five-year-old mare will be looking to enter the history books as the first horse to go back to back in the feature. Price himself has won the race a record four times and has nominated another runner in the race in Pedrena.

Local hopes will be led by last year’s runner-up and early favourite Viddora who enjoyed a sensational Spring campaign in Melbourne before claiming her maiden Group 1 victory in the Winterbottom Stakes in December. Secret Agenda and Viddora filled the placings in Saturday’s Group 3 RN Irwin Stakes behind the Western Australian visitor, Dainty Tess who has also nominated for the $1 Million sprint.

Dual Group 1 winner Shoals, will be aiming to add a third to her resume when she steps out in the UBET Classic. Her two Group 1 victories have come over 1400m and 1600m but her 1200m record is phenomenal with three Stakes wins from four starts at the trip.

Last year’s fourth placegetter and Goodwood runner-up, Missrock returns to Adelaide for Robbie Laing, while Andrew Noblet’s Super Cash is also nominated after running tenth in this race last year. Super Cash is a three time Group 2 winner and will look to continue her sensational fresh record. She is five from six fresh and has had close to three months off after her last start win in February’s Group 2 Rubiton Stakes.     

Leading trainer, Darren Weir has nominated four runners including last start winners Whispering Brook and Quilista. The latter has now won three in a row including last weekend’s impressive 1.8 length victory in the Group 2 Sapphire Stakes at Randwick.   

David Hayes is still searching for his maiden win in the Sangster and Lindsay Park have nominated four horses including Group 1 Blue Diamond winner Catchy. The three-year-old filly won her last start in the Group 3 Arrowfield Stakes at Randwick and has won three times over 1200m. She is joined in the nominations by four time Group winner Formality, dual Group 3 winner Tulip and former local horse and Group 2 winner Miss Gunpowder.

Sydney-siders James Cummings and Kris Lees have also nominated horses with Cumming's Ghisoni and Lees' Danish Twist heading to Adelaide after chasing Quilista at Randwick. 

There are also strong local nominations from Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas (Gogo Grace), Shane Oxlade (It’s Been a Battle), Mark Minervini (Mica Lil), Ryan Balfour (Mystified) and Barry Brook (Nipperkin).  

Nominations for the $1 Million Group 1 UBET Classic

 1           Catchy (David & B Hayes & T Dabernig)                 

 2           Cool Passion (Tony McEvoy)                      

 3           Dainty Tess (Daniel Morton)                      

 4           Danish Twist (Kris Lees)                

 5           Deja Blue (Robbie Griffiths)                        

 6           Formality (David & B Hayes & T Dabernig)            

 7           Ghisoni (James Cummings)                         

 8           Gogo Grace (Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas)

 9           Houtzen (Toby Edmonds)                            

 10          It's Been A Battle (Shane Oxlade)                            

 11          Legless Veuve (Henry Dwyer)                    

 12          Lyuba (Darren Weir)                      

 13          Mica Lil (Mark Minervini)                            

 14          Miss Gunpowder (David & B Hayes & T Dabernig)                            

 15          Missrock (Robbie Laing)               

 16          Mystified (Ryan Balfour)                             

 17          Nipperkin (Barry Brook)               

 18          Ocean Jewel (Simon A Miller)                    

 19          Pedrena (Mick Price)                     

 20          Prussian Vixen (Michael Mehegan)                         

 21          Quilista (Darren Weir)                   

 22          Seannie (Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young)                            

 23          Secret Agenda (Mick Price)                        

 24          Selenia (Robbie Griffiths)                            

 25          Shoals (Anthony Freedman)                       

 26          Super Cash (Andrew Noblet)                      

 27          True Excelsior (Leon & Troy Corstens)     

 28          Tulip (David & B Hayes & T Dabernig)                     

 29          Twitchy Frank (Darren Weir)       

Post categories

TRSA - Racing TRSA - Homepage