Skip to Content

The Listed Hill Smith and Durbridge Stakes Preview

This Saturday at Morphettville will see two $100,000 listed races, The Hill Smith Stakes and Romeo's Durbridge Stakes.

The Listed Hill Smith Stakes- Race 5

Five interstate visitors are set to contest Saturday's Listed Hill Smith Stakes with runners from Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr), Peter Gelagotis, Ciaron Maher & David Eustace, and David & Ben Hayes & Tom Daberning.

Darren Weir and Shayne Cahill have won the last two editions of the Hill Smith with Savaheat from the Weir Stable in 2017 and Burn Off from the Cahill Stable in 2018.

Tony and Calvin McEvoy have a strong hand in the race with four runners all chasing favouritism, with Balaabel, Silent Sovereign and Raabeeha sitting at equal favourites at $5.50, and Marndarra not far behind on $6.00.

David & Ben Hayes & Tom Daberning's gelding, Raptures is equal favourite also sitting at $5.50. The race looks to be very strong and is looking like a close one.

In the last four years of the races history there has only be one gelding to take out the race, which was Savaheat from the Weir Stable in 2017.

Romeo’s Durbridge Stakes- Race 8

Interstate runner Marcel from Madrid trained by Paul Preusker, is sitting as the race favourite and will give the local horses a run for their money. Currently sitting at $3.60, Marcel from Madrid is a last start winner and has had one run at Morphettville for a win. Being ridden by the inform Barend Vorster is certain an advantage for this runner.

Not far behind the favourite is Everyday Lady for Will Clarken at $4, followed by inform Kemalpasa trained by Richard and Chantelle Jolly, Kemalpasa who is chasing a treble with an impressive last start win at Morphettville Parks on the 28th of September.

Finally, The Mount Gambier runner Casino Wizard is seeking a back to back win in the race after taking out last year’s Durbridge Stakes. Casino Wizard is being held safely in the market at $17. This year the horse will be ridden by Jason Holder who will be looking for his first win in the race since 1994.

Post categories

TRSA - Racing TRSA - Stories TRSA - Homepage