Skip to Content

Board Members

Thoroughbred Racing SA is controlled by a seven-member Board of Directors. They are as follows:

Frances Nelson QC - Chair

A leading figure of this States’ legal establishment, Frances has been Chairman of the Parole Board of South Australia since 1983.

Frances rode trackwork to put herself through university, has competed as an amateur jockey and has won several feature races as a trainer. She has also chaired two major inquiries into South Australian racing and the betting industries.

Frances was Deputy Chair of Racing Australia from 2014 to 2016 and Chair of Racing Australia from 2016 to 2019. During that period she was Vice Chair of the Asian Racing Federation and still serves as the nominee of that body to a sub committee of the International Association.She continues to attend Executive Council of the International Federation of Horse Racing Authorities where she is a Member of the Governance Review Committee

She currently chairs the Australian Pattern and Development Committee and the National Jockey Welfare Committee.

David Rasheed - Deputy Chair

David is one of the founding partners of Tilbrook Rasheed and has more than 20 years experience as a Chartered Accountant.

A Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and a Fellow of the Taxation Institute of Australia, David provides business and taxation advice to a wide range of small and medium size businesses.

Cos Cardone

Cos Cardone is the Chief Executive Officer of McGuire Media -  one of Australia’s largest independent producers of sport and sport entertainment for Australia’s leading FTA and PAY TV Networks.

He has been a Director of the Port Adelaide Football Club since 2012 and is Chairman of the Club’s Brand and Marketing Committee.

He was previously Director of Sport and Head of Entertainment for the Nine Network Australia.

Brett Dixon

Brett has been on the board of the Darwin Turf Club since 2002 and was elected as 12th Chairman of the Darwin Turf Club in 2008, following 3 years as Vice-Chairman. He is the Director of several successful companies and brings significant business and leadership credentials to the role of TRSA director. Brett has a passion for thoroughbred racing and has been involved in breeding horses for the over 15 years.

Grant Harrison

Grant is the former General Manager of the SATAB (8 years) having been employed there for 25 years.  He has a Bachelor of Business and Associate Diploma of Marketing from University of South Australia.  He is a member of the Australian Institute of company Directors.

Grant also has extensive experience in sports administration having been on the Gymnastics Australia Board for 12 years, the last three as President.  He has also been a Board Member of the Australian Olympic Committee and is a current Director of the Australian Commonwealth Games Association.  He was a Board member of the Southern Football league for 5 years and Chairman of Gymnastics South Australia for 10 years.

Rob Rorrison

Rob is a Senior Advisor for Taylor Collison, Executive Chairman of Climate Capital Pty Ltd and a Non Executive Director of Baiyin International Investments Limited.

He commenced his career as a Chartered Accountant, specialising in the Insolvency and Restructuring businesses. He joined Macquarie Group’s Investment Banking business where he worked for 25 years, including as Chairman, Asia Resources for Macquarie Capital’s Asian Investment Banking business.

Over his career Rob has worked across Finance, Capital Markets, M&A, Principal Investments and Corporate Restructuring businesses in Australia, Asia and the UK.

He also previously served on the South Australian Jockey Club Board.

Member – Finance Committee

Julie Ryan

Julie Ryan is an experienced legal counsel and company secretary, with a particular interest in governance and strategy. She is currently the CEO of Retail Drinks Australia, the national industry body representing the rights of off premise liquor retailers. Before joining Retail Drinks, Julie was a director of the Winemakers Federation of Australia, and on the executive management team of a global wine company where she had a broad responsibility covering global legal services, government affairs, company secretarial and risk.